Group C

Peter Brock Holden Torana XU-1The 1970s saw Holden and Ford each take 5 victories, but in 1973 the races name changed once more. Not due to sponsorship deals, but due to the metric system. The Hardie-Ferodo 500 (miles) became known as the Hardie-Ferodo 1000 (kilometres).

1972 however, saw Peter Brock claim his first of many titles in his Torana GTR XU-1, holding off competition from Allan Moffat in his Phase-3 GT-HO Super Falcon. This was also the first time a six-cylinder engine had one at Bathurst over a V8, proving that size doesn't matter. 

1980 saw another name change, from Hardie-Ferodo to simply the James Hardie 1000. The late 70s and early years of the 1980s saw the dominance of Peter Brock which all racing fans in Australia have come to know him for. In 7 years he won 6 times at Bathurst, a feat as yet unrivalled by any other driver as he claimed two hat-tricks at Bathurst, in 1978, '79, '80 and again in 1982, '83 and '84.

A Datsun at the Mount

Ford XD Falcon